met-co-aire tri gear

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

mechanic

met-co-aire tri gear

Post by mechanic »

i am a mechanic in canada involved in an import of a cessna 170B from the U.S. the aircraft was purchased with inadequate records and has been nothing but a headache for myself and the owner in dealing with transport canada to do everything properly. the journey log states that the tri gear installation was done in 1956. i have obtained a copy of the origional drawings for the installation from met-co-aire but they do not include any reference as to what should be done to return the plane to taildragger configuration, which is its current state. we have no record of it being converted back as these records are missing. i have seen on your forum that some of your owners have converted these planes back to tri gear and what i need is some insight as to what the faa required you to do it. i would like to think they wouldnt make you tear up the floor and remove the origional installation pieces. without a procedure transport canada will make us do that to bring the plane back to origional configuration. i think that a simple change of the weight and balance would be suffice. i also need to know where to find anequipment list for this aircraft as ours is missing. thank you for your time
GAHorn

Re: met-co-aire tri gear

Post by GAHorn »

The original equipment list can be obtained from Cessna by aircraft serial number. Of course, you will have to update that original to accomodate current status.
I can't help you with the Met-Co-Aire reversal back-to-original. (But I'd like to encourage you to send us copies of your Met Co Aire installation instructions, as we do not have that in our library.)
'53 B-model N146YS SN:25713
50th Anniversary of Flight Model. Winner-Best Original 170B, 100th Anniversary of Flight Convention.
An originality nut (mostly) for the right reasons. ;)
johneeb