First Plane Rides

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

3958v

First Plane Rides

Post by 3958v »

Before starting this topic I must confess to stealing it from the 120 140 site. Just wondering how many of you remember what type of plane you recieved your first plane ride in. I got mine in the back seat of a J3 with my older brother and me belted into one seat. I remember flying about 100 ft above our barn and yelling hello to the people on the ground. Since it was 1961 I am sure that the statue of limitations has passed. Bill
Polished 48 170 Cat 22 JD 620 & Pug
Bruce Fenstermacher

Post by Bruce Fenstermacher »

A 172 in the sixties. Scared as heck the whole ride and darn near ripped the arm rest of the sidewall when the pilot reduced throttle to land.

Scared of heights then and still today.

That's why I'm a professional helicopter pilot. Anything over 1500ft agl is just to dam high. :lol:
CAUTION - My forum posts may be worth what you paid for them!

Bruce Fenstermacher, Past President, TIC170A
Email: brucefenster at gmail.com
rupertjl

Post by rupertjl »

mine was a 1929 Fleet, I was about 8 years old...i just remember holding on the to cross bar across the front and peeking out over the edge...but man what a ride...
1950 170A: N9191A s/n 19366
cessna170bdriver

Post by cessna170bdriver »

Mine was at age 3 in N70449, Dad's J3 (actually an L4 that he rebuilt into a J3), strapped in my Dad's lap (or maybe on one knee?). My earliest clear memory (of anything) is circling my grandmother's house (where we lived at the time).

Miles
4583C

Post by 4583C »