First flight

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

steve grewing

First flight

Post by steve grewing »

Hello,
I wanted to let everyone know I am now a Cessna 170 driver. I put s/n 18343 into the air Saturday (5-28-05) morning for the first time. I told my instructor that I was very nervous and had 20+ years of rust to overcome. I requested he make the first landing incase it was squirrelly. It was not. It was last annualed in 1979, I bought it in 1990. I'm working on meeting FAA and insurance requirements now. Now I can make it to a fly-in. Engine is working great. Main irritations I have is the carb heat knob/cable continually migrates out about 1/2" and the (old Whelen) strobes can be heard loading in the intercom and also in the radio when transmitting. I've had no success correcting either.
I find the forums to have a wealth of information and appreciate the contributions to completing my project.
See ya.

Steve
Dave Clark

Post by Dave Clark »

Great to hear you're back in the air. :!:

As for the carb air cable creep one fix is to pull the inner cable out and put a slight wave or kink in it for added friction. Do a little bit at a time and test the feel of it before hooking it back up.
Dave
N92CP ("Clark's Plane")
1953 C-180
N1478D

Post by N1478D »

THAT's GREAT STEVE! Bet the rust fell off and those landings were good!
Fly on over to GPM and we will introduce you to the 6 170's here. Midway's annual pankcake breakfast flyin is this Saturday, and I believe Gainsville's really nice flyin is the next one after that.

Got the cylinder back from Sentry Thursday and put it on Saturday. Still have the exhaust to do, and the rest of the annual. Hopefully this coming weekend will allow for that to be done.
Joe
51 C170A
Grand Prairie, TX
steve grewing

First flight

Post by steve grewing »

Dave,