why buy a 170 instead of a 172

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

sofronoff

why buy a 170 instead of a 172

Post by sofronoff »

I would be interested to know the rationale for buying a taildragger instead of a nose wheel plane. I can understand the importance of it for a bush pilot, but is there anything other than nostalgia that drives the interest in the 170?
What about for an absolute beginner? Would you advise against buying a 170 as a first aircraft?
N1478D

Post by N1478D »

After a few hundred hours in a 170 it is horrible to rent a 172 or a Piper which I have done a few times. It's like driving your Mom's station wagon when you are in a nose wheeler after being use to the taildragger. Taildraggers are more fun, more interesting to land - that does not mean harder after you have the training, and they look better. The pretty girl at the airport with the tshirt that reads "I Like Taildragger Pilots - They Know How To Slip It In" could be an influence also. :wink: Hardly anybody notices when a 172 comes in!

I bought a 170 before I had my pilots license. It came available so I moved on it and unloaded the 150 that I had purchased to take my training in. It makes a terrific first airplane, go for it, you will never regret it.
Joe
51 C170A
Grand Prairie, TX
Jr.CubBuilder

Post by Jr.CubBuilder »

Taildraggers are more fun and will make you a better pilot. They have their own frustrations though, they want to weathervane into the wind on the ground, they take more skill to land, even after you've learned how to handle one on landing it will still bite you in the ass if you aren't on your toes

I think my 170 has a lighter feel to it's handling in the air. It seems more frisky like a 152 compared to the 1976 172 that I used to rent