170 glide ratio

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

russfarris

170 glide ratio

Post by russfarris »

I did a search here on the site and a Google search on this. One source claims the glide ratio of the stock 170B is 7:1; with their STOL kit and VGs, they claim 13:1! (I forget which company it was, I'll look it up later.) As an old sailplane pilot, I find that kind of improvement highly suspect at best.

The 172 comes up as being around 9:1, which seems about right for a 170. The reason for all this idle speculation of course, is how far can I glide after an engine failure? At 6,000 feet in zero wind, a 9:1 ratio would get you 9 nautical miles to the ground.

Is that 9:1 with a windmilling prop? Who knows, since the glide ratio data for this airplane isn't published anywhere I can find. Stopping the prop would involve slowing down to close to stall and possibly yawing one direction or the other. Stopping the prop should help the glide ratio 15 to 20 percent, as a WAG.

Has anybody out there experimented with this kind of thing? Russ Farris
All glory is fleeting...
zero.one.victor

Post by zero.one.victor »

The POH for my old 150 stated that the glide ratio was 8:1. I figured that meant for every thousand feet of altitude I could glide about a mile and a half-- given "perfect" conditions, that is.
After having a connecting rod break in flight, out over the salt water no less ( 8O ), I have to say that I don't believe it. From 1700 feet MSL, I limped about 2-1/2 miles to an airport at 240 feet MSL, and that was with the engine still making partial power. Or at least some noise.