new member -

A place to relax and discuss flying topics.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

jarnold

new member -

Post by jarnold »

Hey all,
I'm James. I'm from eastern montana. I'm a welder / fabricator and have recently decided to pursue my ppl. About 7 years ago i flew fairly regularly with my, at the time, boss / company owner, in his 170B. It was a gutted, polished bird, with heavier (like i said i'm knew to terminology) gear legs and bush wheels. He was giving me instruction on some basic maneuvers, and i was younger. I flew one time in the actual pilot seat to a different airport, with him on the right. I hadn't done much ground school if any, as i recall, and on the return trip i'll say the landing scared the hell out of me. On top of it, there were fewer words of encouragement, and more so words of intimidation. Did I mention he was ex military? I can' remember and exact phrasing, but i left me feeling incompetent and like i wouldn't ever be in control of the bird. Needless to say, my flight time fell off.

A year or two following, as our work relation began to suffer, and i began to develop my own plan as a contractor / business owner, we lost contact and i left to bigger and better things. Fast forward 5 years, and i still have this itch in my bones whenever i see a small aircraft above me. I wonder how things would have been had i stuck to it and pushed through it all. Needless to say, I have once again decided to pursue it--this time from a little different angle (here is where i want some input). I decided i wanted to gain as much knowledge as possible before i begin flight instruction again. I want to know (not everything, obviously) as much as i can before i get back into the cockpit in hopes of it easing some of my previous tension / anxiety.