Aluminum Spot Welding

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

DWood

Aluminum Spot Welding

Post by DWood »

I have completed reskinning the verticle and I am now reskinning the rudder on my 48 project. I would like to stay original.The skins are spot welded in several locations including the position light housing to the bottom skins. Since it was originally spot welded, I should be able to use the same attachment method when I reskin. Does anyone know who does spot welding for aluminum. They should be certified. I would prefer in the Southeast, but can ship if required.
Thx,
Dan
Solomon

Re: Aluminum Spot Welding

Post by Solomon »

Good evening, It got my interest when I saw something about welding. I am a certified welder but not certified for the spot weld in a rudder. I do aluminum welding for my own repairs. I also am in the years of restoring my 170B. At one point I reskined my rudder. The Aand P who did the reskin just used rivits. I do not think that someone would mark down an aircraft from being original because of spot welds . You could look up an FAA repair station nearest to you and bring the pieces together with clecos. When all is in alighnment then they could weld it for a minimum charge. An FAA repair station that does aircraft welding.
n2582d

Post by n2582d »

Dan,
I'm sure Kent White could spot weld that for you but I've heard he's rather pricey. He's also on the west coast. Maybe he would know someone closer to you. http://www.tinmantech.com/
Last edited by n2582d on Wed Nov 18, 2009 4:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gary
DWood

Post by DWood »

Thanks for the responses and leads.
Dan
DaveF

Post by DaveF »

Harry Dellicker can do aluminum spot welding.
DWood

Post by DWood »

Thank you, I will contact him.
Dan
cessna170bdriver

Post by cessna170bdriver »

Interesting thread.