New Owner with a Cowling Question

How to keep the Cessna 170 flying and airworthy.

Moderators: GAHorn, Karl Towle, Bruce Fenstermacher

elliott245

New Owner with a Cowling Question

Post by elliott245 »

I am a new 170 owner. I am very excited about the new aircraft I bought, it is a bit of a flying project. My initial concern is the cowling fitment. To my A&P and myself the engine appears to be too far forward or the cowling is a 1/2 in to short. The problem is the front of the case is slightly pressing against the cowling. The air intake is also touching the air filter slightly. This is the original C-145 engine, there are no apparent mods. I don't see anywhere the mount has been extended out. Having no prior 170 experience I am wondering if anyone might know why this is or have a reasonable solution for adding some space???

I am very new to writing in forums and brand new to the 170 association so not sure if I am even sure if I am asking this question in the correct way or in the correct place so forgive me if I have done this incorrectly.

Thank you,
170C

Re: New Owner with a Cowling Question

Post by 170C »

Welcome to the IC170A Elliott! Also welcome to the ownership of a Cessna 170. There are many, much more knowledgeable members who will no doubt chime in on your questions. One thing you might do is post what model 170 you have. The cowling should fit around the air filter bracket. If it isn't doing so it will not allow the cowling to fit up to the boot cowl. Your mechanic should know this. Hopefully he is familiar with C-170's, etc. Don't be afraid to ask questions as they come up. Enjoy your new plane!
OLE POKEY
170C
Director:
2012-2018
elliott245

Post by elliott245 »